Friday, April 1, 2011

Q2 Goals

So I guess I ought to post my goals for April-June. I just haven't felt like it... I had been doing great with working out and eating well. I lost 8 lbs. But I haven't worked out or eaten remotely well for almost a week and have gained 3.2 lbs. I started back with my fitness pal yesterday- that keeps me motivated. And the thing is I was feeling great working out- so back to running tomorrow...

So the goals:
April- take a more active role in our finances
- to not have missed any of my shelled workouts
May- ride my bike to work at least once a week
- have lost 15 lbs
June- walk the dogs 3x a week
- have decreased my 5k time by 2 minutes

I feel like I finished Q1 fairly well. I am consistently on time to work and (except for the last few days)have changed my eating habits (although I doubt I will ever not eat breakfast in the car) and I am regularly working out. I hope to make this next quarter as successful!

Thursday, March 17, 2011

C25K 1.1 and 1.2

Yes. I know this has become very weight loss/ work out oriented and while I see this blog eventually becoming more about life, right now my focus and goals are all pointing toward getting in better shape. So I am sorry if this is boring...
But anyway. Monday I restarted the C25K program and then I rode for 24 minutes (it needs to warm up outside so I can go get my bike instead of using the stupid stationary bikes at the gym...). Then Wednesday- are you ready for this? I got up at 5:30 and went to run. As we were laying in bed with the alarm going off, Monique and I talked about staying in bed and I could go after work (which I've intended to do before but never quite made it)but I stayed strong and we got up and went! Okay, I wanted to swim in addition to running but we didn't get there with enough time. So 2 days are done. Today is an off day but I am riding and swimming tomorrow, running on Saturday and swimming on Sunday.

Monday, March 14, 2011

5.8

I've lost 5.8 pounds! Awesome! And I am going to start C25K again today. I counted and the Valpo triathlon is only 17 weeks away.
Okay, off to finish laundry and cleaning the house.

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Lent

No, I am not Catholic but I have always loved the idea of having a season of preparation and sacrifice before Easter. So this year I an giving up cussing. Being surrounded by everyone at work and elsewhere I have developed a bit of a potty mouth. So that has been what I'm working on for this Lenten season. What about you? Are you giving up or starting a new habit for lent?

On another note I will be working on Q2 goals (April- June) soon, any ideas? (Other than being more gangsta. I've given up on that- it seems I'm destined to be preppy and white and I'm coming to accept that...)

And no. I have not been running. Remy and I did go for a nice long walk today though. And you may have noticed that I haven't posted about eating breakfast at home (my other March goal). Let's be serious- as much as I want to be the kind of person who has a nice calm breakfast at the table while reading the paper- I LOVE my sleep! When we have kids I'll want us to eat as a family but for now the car works just fine. But I am getting to work on time everyday still! Let's celebrate the successes!

Thursday, March 3, 2011

A success!

Woohoo! Are you ready for a change of pace for my blog? I have lost 3.6 lbs! And that us just from counting my calories! It is actually really cool. I think about the size of my portions. If I want dessert I eat lighter during the day. So it's not like I have to cut out anything out.
But Remy did get bumped from my March goals. (yes, she seemed hurt but we had a good talk and she understands...) it is too cold and dark when I get off work still.
But we have decided to keep out gym membership and I (& Monique-I think) am going to do a 5k on April 2nd. I need some really push to start running again. A goal of training for a 5k in less than a month is quite push. So I AM going to go running tomorrow! I AM!!!

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

My Fitness Pal

So... Due to financial concerns we have decided we are going to cancel our gym membership. We have the best of intentions to go- but we aren't. And as it is currently 21 degrees and snowy, running outside isn't an option- at least for normal people. So that kind of messes with my goals for February and March. This past weekend I went down to South Carolina to visit my brother and he showed me an app he uses called My Fitness Pal (they have it for Blackberry, Droid and iPhone and it's FREE!) he's lost 30 lbs (not that he had 5 to lose) just by counting his calories. He said that he doesn't have time to work out but he does have time to keep track of his food intake. I feel like that's where I am too. Did you know I've gained 25 lbs in the last 2 years! I was running a lot and when I was lifeguarding I was always swimming. Now I sit around in an ambulance all day...
Anyway- I've started using the app and I really like it, if anything it makes me more aware of what I eat. And I was going to make one of my April goals to walk Remy 4 times a week. But I am going to make that my march goal since swimming is out. Then when the weather gets nice I'll have already slimmed down a bit and can start running again. I'm going to weigh in on Wednesdays and Sundays so I'll keep you posted.
(I feel like this was a lot of rambling, sorry.)

Thursday, February 17, 2011

Case in point...

Yesterday I was whining that whenever Monique plans on bringing me dinner it's like the gods know and send me way out of the area. So last night at 6:45 I stopped by my house to grab a salad she made me and what do you know- we get an emergency call that not only doesn't allow me to eat my salad but we get off late. So I ended up eating my salad when I got home at 9:15. I just wanted you to know I'm not making this stuff up- it happens without fail...

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Help!

I need some help. (okay- no one reads this- but we are going to pretend, okay.) I am going to be trying to pick up as much OT as possible- remember that upcoming wedding? So I my schedule is all out of whack. Yes I need to be working out on days that I am off so Saturday and Sunday this week. But I also need to get in a workout while on days I work too. I just dont know how. Okay here is my work day schedule and I'll include meals because I'm also at a loss as to what to do for dinner...
6:15 shower and get ready (usuall includes packing lunches)
7:05 leave for work- Monique and I both have to be at work at 7:30 so she drops me off early at 7:15. I eat breakfast in the car.
10:00 Morning snack- today I have cantaloupe.
1:00 lunch- today I have a sandwich and tapioca.
4:00 afternoon snack- today I have pretzels.
Here is the problem- I want to have dinner at 7:00 but it's nearly impossible unless I have another sandwich. A thermos wouldn't keep food hit that long and whenever monique plans on bringing me dinner or me stopping by the house to grab it we are always sent out of the area. We sit in the ambulance all day in parking lots when we aren't on a call so I can't count on being by a microwave either. So I typically end up eating around 9:00 when get home.. Then we are in bed by 10:30. I know that's not healthy at all and I try to eat well all day long then do that!
So question 1.) what should I do about dinner? Eat another sandwich or something similar? And the bigger question- what about the gym? Go after work, maybe drink A muscle milk around 7:30 and go to the Y at 8:30 when I get off? I need to figure something out. Any suggestions?

Friday, February 11, 2011

An object at rest...

Whoa. I'm sorry it's been a while. I guess I feel like you only want to read about my failures so much before you give up on me too. So let's do January in review...
As far as working out- it's been bad! I guess it's rough having a fitness goal and a goal pointing me to an adult life filled with responsibility... I gave been picking up a lit of overtime so we can get done stuff paid off/put some money toward our December wedding (back to that on a minute) so working 4 or 5 13 hour shifts a week doesn't leave a lot of time or will to want to work out.
As far as getting to work on time- that latter half of the month I've been rocking it! We even had our reviews the other day an my boss commented on how I've been doing much better. I've been only 2 minutes late in the last 2 weeks and that was due to the weather. excellent!

My February goals are: to complete all my daily chores and to be working out 4 days a weeks. As far as my chores are going- I've been doing what I need to. Monique hasn't had to get on me about being lazy in a while. I haven't been going above and beyond with my cleaning though. Monique gives me a list and I do it- but I need to be working towards not needing a list.
I am getting married December 10th (I think that's the date we settled on- it might be the 3rd...) so that's extra incentive to get my arse in gear. So on Monday I'm going to the gym and I will start C25K again. I must!

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Not feeling it...

I'm not in the mood to talk about my shortcomings, so...
Monday time @ work: 7:37
Tuesday time @ work: 7:34

Maybe I'll do better tomorrow or Friday, maybe Saturday...

I think I woke up on the wrong side of the bed today...

Also, no running since that 1 day...

Friday, January 14, 2011

Still can't do it...

Okay, so week 2 hasn't gone as planned... I went to work once, yesterday and clocked in a 7:37. I can't seem to get the hang of this whole on time thing...
I picked up 2 extra days next week, so I'm working Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Extra practice for being on time. Monday and Friday I start at 8, not 7:30 so maybe that will help. But Thursday-Tuesday Monique will be out of town so I'll have to get myself ready and take care of the dogs. We'll see I guess...
But the downside to extra hours is I'm not sure how running is going to work out. (You know I work 13 hour days, right?) Wednesday and Sunday will be fine, but I might have to go before work on Monday. (Yeah right!) I'll let you know what I figure out.

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Sick Day

Wow, I feel like crap...
I didn't go work out yesterday and didn't go to work today.
I work tomorrow, hopefully.
So all of my goals are on hold...

Sunday, January 9, 2011

Week in review

Time at work on Thursday: 7:36
Time at work on Friday: 7:34
Time I was supposed to be at work both days: 7:30
Okay, so I haven't been on time at all this first week, but it's been getting better each day, so that's something right?

As far as C25K goes, well I only got in 1 day. I haven't been back to the gym since Wednesday because I've got a cold (or something) so running with this cough probably wouldn't be the best idea. (And even if I didn't care Monique wouldn't let me go, I like that she cares...)

So tomorrow (assuming I'm feeling a bit better) I will start week one over again.

All in all not the best first week, but I'm not quitting.

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Fail (Not really, just feels like it...)

So like I said I had to work Tuesday at 7:30. So Monday night I laid out my uniform, had all my stuff together and my lunch packed- cutting down on a lot of time spent running around in the morning. Well, the alarm (or the alarm worker- Monique, I'm not sure which) had a malfunction and we didn't end up getting up until 7:04. So needless to say I was late again- 7:37. Tomorrow I work at 7:30 again. I'll have everything ready and I'll be in charge of the alarm. So we shall see.

Then today was supposed to be C25K day 2, but I forgot to charge my iPod (there is an app on iTunes for C25K that is great, I use that rather than a stopwatch). So I was like "I'll just do it old school and use my watch"- well I wasn't wearing a watch and there is only one clock on the corner of the track. I really thought about going home and charging it and coming back later, but I didn't want to feel stupid just leaving after 2 minutes. So there are these Expresso bikes that I've been wanting to try out where you can pick a course to do and you have to steer and stuff. It was actually pretty cool. I rode 6.25 miles in a little under half hour. So I'll be running on Friday and Saturday.

Monday, January 3, 2011

C25K 1:1

Okay, so today is the first day of Couch to 5k plan. I have nearly finished it twice and started it a number of times. I was really into it my junior year of college but then had a cycling accident and really scraped up my knee, I just lost my motivation after that. Then in the summer of 2007 I was 2 weeks away from finishing it (up to 2.5 miles) but alas... When I was a lifeguard in 2009 I ran and swam a lot, but I'll blame Monique for presenting me with better options for spending my time. So I'm 25lbs heavier than when we got together and am really wanting to get back into shape. So here is my work out schedule:
Monday @ 6 pm
Wednesday @8 am
Friday @ 9pm
Saturday @ 9 am
I'll be doing C25K on MWF and maybe swimming or something on Saturdays.

Tomorrow is my first day back at work for the new year and I'm going to try to be on time! (I'll let you know...)

Saturday, January 1, 2011

2011 Goals (Q1)

I'm a list person- I love making lists of chores, money, goals, anything- but I'm not big on the follow through. Since 2008 I have been making monthly goals at the beginning of the year, in '08 I had 3 goals a month- for the year it would probably be a high estimate to say that 10 of the 36 were accomplished. So they got put on the '09 list and then again on last years list. This year as I sat down to make my list Monique suggested I work in quarters instead of the whole year. So here is the Q1 list.

January ☐ Make it to work every day ON TIME
                ☐ Start (and complete) C25K
February ☐ Complete all my daily chores
                ☐ Be working out 4x a week
March   ☐ Eat breakfast at home
                ☐ Swim 2x a week

I have some goals for the rest of the year done, okay, they are things I wanted to do in 2008 and, well, didn't. I have always wanted to run the Popcorn panic (5 miles in July) and the Valpo Triathlon (sprint distance in August). I guess by doing my list quarterly I will be able to course correct if I get side tracked. Next year I want to have all new goals, so I'm inviting you to follow along and hold me accountable as I journey. We'll get started on January's goals on Monday.