I'm not in the mood to talk about my shortcomings, so...
Monday time @ work: 7:37
Tuesday time @ work: 7:34
Maybe I'll do better tomorrow or Friday, maybe Saturday...
I think I woke up on the wrong side of the bed today...
Also, no running since that 1 day...
Wednesday, January 19, 2011
Friday, January 14, 2011
Still can't do it...
Okay, so week 2 hasn't gone as planned... I went to work once, yesterday and clocked in a 7:37. I can't seem to get the hang of this whole on time thing...
I picked up 2 extra days next week, so I'm working Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Extra practice for being on time. Monday and Friday I start at 8, not 7:30 so maybe that will help. But Thursday-Tuesday Monique will be out of town so I'll have to get myself ready and take care of the dogs. We'll see I guess...
But the downside to extra hours is I'm not sure how running is going to work out. (You know I work 13 hour days, right?) Wednesday and Sunday will be fine, but I might have to go before work on Monday. (Yeah right!) I'll let you know what I figure out.
I picked up 2 extra days next week, so I'm working Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Extra practice for being on time. Monday and Friday I start at 8, not 7:30 so maybe that will help. But Thursday-Tuesday Monique will be out of town so I'll have to get myself ready and take care of the dogs. We'll see I guess...
But the downside to extra hours is I'm not sure how running is going to work out. (You know I work 13 hour days, right?) Wednesday and Sunday will be fine, but I might have to go before work on Monday. (Yeah right!) I'll let you know what I figure out.
Tuesday, January 11, 2011
Sick Day
Wow, I feel like crap...
I didn't go work out yesterday and didn't go to work today.
I work tomorrow, hopefully.
So all of my goals are on hold...
I didn't go work out yesterday and didn't go to work today.
I work tomorrow, hopefully.
So all of my goals are on hold...
Sunday, January 9, 2011
Week in review
Time at work on Thursday: 7:36
Time at work on Friday: 7:34
Time I was supposed to be at work both days: 7:30
Okay, so I haven't been on time at all this first week, but it's been getting better each day, so that's something right?
As far as C25K goes, well I only got in 1 day. I haven't been back to the gym since Wednesday because I've got a cold (or something) so running with this cough probably wouldn't be the best idea. (And even if I didn't care Monique wouldn't let me go, I like that she cares...)
So tomorrow (assuming I'm feeling a bit better) I will start week one over again.
All in all not the best first week, but I'm not quitting.
Time at work on Friday: 7:34
Time I was supposed to be at work both days: 7:30
Okay, so I haven't been on time at all this first week, but it's been getting better each day, so that's something right?
As far as C25K goes, well I only got in 1 day. I haven't been back to the gym since Wednesday because I've got a cold (or something) so running with this cough probably wouldn't be the best idea. (And even if I didn't care Monique wouldn't let me go, I like that she cares...)
So tomorrow (assuming I'm feeling a bit better) I will start week one over again.
All in all not the best first week, but I'm not quitting.
Wednesday, January 5, 2011
Fail (Not really, just feels like it...)
So like I said I had to work Tuesday at 7:30. So Monday night I laid out my uniform, had all my stuff together and my lunch packed- cutting down on a lot of time spent running around in the morning. Well, the alarm (or the alarm worker- Monique, I'm not sure which) had a malfunction and we didn't end up getting up until 7:04. So needless to say I was late again- 7:37. Tomorrow I work at 7:30 again. I'll have everything ready and I'll be in charge of the alarm. So we shall see.
Then today was supposed to be C25K day 2, but I forgot to charge my iPod (there is an app on iTunes for C25K that is great, I use that rather than a stopwatch). So I was like "I'll just do it old school and use my watch"- well I wasn't wearing a watch and there is only one clock on the corner of the track. I really thought about going home and charging it and coming back later, but I didn't want to feel stupid just leaving after 2 minutes. So there are these Expresso bikes that I've been wanting to try out where you can pick a course to do and you have to steer and stuff. It was actually pretty cool. I rode 6.25 miles in a little under half hour. So I'll be running on Friday and Saturday.
Then today was supposed to be C25K day 2, but I forgot to charge my iPod (there is an app on iTunes for C25K that is great, I use that rather than a stopwatch). So I was like "I'll just do it old school and use my watch"- well I wasn't wearing a watch and there is only one clock on the corner of the track. I really thought about going home and charging it and coming back later, but I didn't want to feel stupid just leaving after 2 minutes. So there are these Expresso bikes that I've been wanting to try out where you can pick a course to do and you have to steer and stuff. It was actually pretty cool. I rode 6.25 miles in a little under half hour. So I'll be running on Friday and Saturday.
Monday, January 3, 2011
C25K 1:1
Okay, so today is the first day of Couch to 5k plan. I have nearly finished it twice and started it a number of times. I was really into it my junior year of college but then had a cycling accident and really scraped up my knee, I just lost my motivation after that. Then in the summer of 2007 I was 2 weeks away from finishing it (up to 2.5 miles) but alas... When I was a lifeguard in 2009 I ran and swam a lot, but I'll blame Monique for presenting me with better options for spending my time. So I'm 25lbs heavier than when we got together and am really wanting to get back into shape. So here is my work out schedule:
Monday @ 6 pm
Wednesday @8 am
Friday @ 9pm
Saturday @ 9 am
I'll be doing C25K on MWF and maybe swimming or something on Saturdays.
Tomorrow is my first day back at work for the new year and I'm going to try to be on time! (I'll let you know...)
Saturday, January 1, 2011
2011 Goals (Q1)
I'm a list person- I love making lists of chores, money, goals, anything- but I'm not big on the follow through. Since 2008 I have been making monthly goals at the beginning of the year, in '08 I had 3 goals a month- for the year it would probably be a high estimate to say that 10 of the 36 were accomplished. So they got put on the '09 list and then again on last years list. This year as I sat down to make my list Monique suggested I work in quarters instead of the whole year. So here is the Q1 list.
January ☐ Make it to work every day ON TIME
☐ Start (and complete) C25K
February ☐ Complete all my daily chores
☐ Be working out 4x a week
March ☐ Eat breakfast at home
☐ Swim 2x a week
I have some goals for the rest of the year done, okay, they are things I wanted to do in 2008 and, well, didn't. I have always wanted to run the Popcorn panic (5 miles in July) and the Valpo Triathlon (sprint distance in August). I guess by doing my list quarterly I will be able to course correct if I get side tracked. Next year I want to have all new goals, so I'm inviting you to follow along and hold me accountable as I journey. We'll get started on January's goals on Monday.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)